Certification Completed … MCSA for SQL Server 2012!

In one of my previous posts, I explored the value of certifications (https://sqlbadboy.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/sql-server-certifications-are-they-valuable-or-useful/) and mentioned that I was pursuing my MCSA (Microsoft Certified Solution Associate) for SQL Server 2012.

Well, I am happy to say that I finally completed this goal!

How do you obtain a MCSA certification?

Basically, obtaining the MCSA certification for SQL Server 2012 (http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en-us/mcsa-sql-certification.aspx) involves passing the following exams:

  • Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Exam 461)
  • Administering Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Databases (Exam 462)
  • Implementing a Data Warehouse with Microsoft SQL Server 2012 (Exam 463)

 What helped me prepare for the exams?

Well, first of all, many years of practical experience helped.  But, I also chose to use the path of self-study using the following books to help me in some areas that I might not  be as familiar with:

Also, I looked at some of the videos from the Microsoft Virtual Academy and I found the instructors quite entertaining:

Additionally, there are other ways to study, which can include taking Microsoft prepared courses such as the following from a training partner:

  • Course 10774: Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012
  • Course 10775: Administering Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Databases
  • Course 10777: Implementing a Data Warehouse with Microsoft SQL Server 2012

 So, if you decide to pursue a path of certification in SQL Server, there are definitely a lot of nice resources that can complement your experience.

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

