Microsoft AlwaysOn Workshop

This week I attended a high availability workshop with Microsoft called “Protect your Business with AlwaysOn”.  It was a 1-day workshop focused on SQL Server 2012 AlwaysOn Availability Groups, which was FREE of charge to their enterprise customers.

Why was I interested in attending this workshop?

  • Microsoft has done a good job with their marketing SQL Server 2012 AlwaysOn features to the management of companies (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/sqlserver/solutions-technologies/mission-critical-operations/high-availability.aspx).  And my management, like most, has shown an interest in trying to find out how it can be leveraged in our environment.
  • Also, this workshop included hand-on lab work as opposed to just presentations.  I felt this would be very beneficial, because I would not have to setup my own test environment, just to understand this feature, which would save me time.

What did I really enjoy about attending this workshop?

After leaving this workshop, I felt very comfortable implementing SQL Server 2012 AlwaysOn features.  So, if an option like this is available to your company, I feel that you should definitely take advantage of it.  Being able to test features in a lab environment with experienced instructors is definitely worth the time involved.

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

